"Statecation"

This is what one of my co-workers called my time off last week.  It is defined as a vacation where someone stays within their state.  This is something I accuse my co-worker Brad of doing on all of his vacations, except his would be called citycation since he never leaves Arlington.  As someone who is not a native Texan (don’t worry I have an anchor baby,my son IS a native Texan), it is nice to travel the great state of Texas and get a feel of some of the great things it has to offer.

First on our “Statecation” we went down to South Texas and stayed in cottage Bayview, TX.  We stayed in this awesome little cottage right on Galveston Bay.  This was the view from the deck.  It goes down to the bay, it has a fishing dock where in the morning you can literally see fish jumping out of the water.  We were unfortunately ill prepared for such an under taking as we brought fishing gear but no bait.  So we caught no fish at the cottage and since we were only staying one night no fish here.  We also went tofish Galveston Island and where my son had the time of his life jumping and swimming in the waves of the ocean.  He had been to the ocean one other time in California, but he was like three at the time so he doesn’t really remember it much, but boy he had the time of his life.  We finally did catch a fish at the Galveston pier.  What a great time we had, my son wants to go back next week, I told him that that probably not going to happen, maybe later this summer.  On the way back from South Texas we ran into something drive in that I had thought was extinct, the drive in movie theater.  Just north of Ennis on HWY 45 sits the Galaxy Drive-in Movie Theater!  It was great, it was just like the old days, the  family piled into the car to watch a double feature of “Indiana Jones” and “Iron Man”.  They even played all the fun animated snack bar films.  It really took me back to my childhood.

Also on our Statecation we went to some things around our very own Metroplex.  We went to the Dallas World Aquarium which was a lot of fun, my son loved the jaguar they have there and all the other animals.  Then we stepped up the sunburn factor to 10 and went to Hawaiian Falls.  The boy had a great time, me I just got sunburned (yes I put on sunscreen) and water logged, but I did keep cool so it was a nice afternoon. 

And finally Saturday we went to the Devil’s Bowl Speedway.  You have to understand after seeing the Pixar movie “Cars” (great movie, even if it is an animated version of the movie “Doc Hollywood”) my son has fallen in love withTMS racecars and really specifically NASCAR.  So we have been to Texas Motor Speedway where he got to get his picture taken standing on the start/finish line.  And now we have gone to the Devil’s Bowl to see dirt track racing sprint car and get his picture taken inside a sprint car.  See that Eddie Gossage you had better step your game he may go sprint cars all the way.  (not a chance).  But here’s the thing when it all started I said I was doing it all for him and it was true, but now I have really started to enjoy the art of turning left.  It pains me to say such things but it is the truth, just trying to keep it real.  What’s next? Watching FC Dallas?  Thank God, my son doesn’t like soccer.

I hope you have enjoyed my recap of my Statecation.  I hope you take your own soon.  Our state has a ton to offer, with the craziness of the airlines now is the time to enjoy the Lone Star state.

2 Responses to “"Statecation"”


  1. 1 Grant June 17, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    What do you call a vacation where you stay home and play golf 7 days in a row, like I did last week? A HoGoCation? By the way, what’s with the pirate style clam diggers you are wearing?

  2. 2 Shannon June 18, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    I like to call them “Man-pri’s”


Leave a comment